The Best of The Black President 2 [Deluxe Edition] (2013)

Knitting Factory Records


This product is currently sold out.

The tracks collected on The Best of the Black President 2 span much of Fela Kuti’s recording career, from the emergence of Afrobeat and the formation of Africa ’70, starting with 1971’s “Black Man’s Cry” and ending with 1992’s “Underground System”. Despite all that was thrown at him, Fela’s music and his message never lost their way. He was always with and for the people.

In his introduction Akon writes: "Despite everything they threw at him, Fela's music and his message never lost their way. He was always real and he was always with the people. That's why we love and miss him all the more."

- Includes a previously unreleased version of “Sorrow Tears and Blood” restored to the track’s original and complete running time, following the recent rediscovery of the six-minute instrumental section preceding the entrance of Fela’s vocals.

- 16 page booklet featuring liner notes by introduced by Akon and featuring track-by-tack analysis by critic Chris May

- Deluxe version includes the DVD Fela Live – Midsummer Concert, featuring interviews + live performances from Glastonbury ’84

- 2 CD compilation of 12 of the most popular Fela compositions with over 155 minutes of music


CD 1
1. Everything Scatter
2. Expensive Shit
3. Underground System (Part 2)
4. Trouble Sleep Yanga Wake Am
5. Monkey Banana
6. Sorrow Tears and Blood (Original Extended Version)

CD 2
1. Black Man's Cry
2. Mr Follow Follow
3. He Miss Road
4. Yellow Fever
5. Na Poi
6. Colonial Mentality

DVD (Deluxe Edition only)
Fela Kuti performing at the Glastonbury Festival 1984 (60 minutes)

Standard 2xCD edition & Digital Download also available.

Share this

Pin Post Plus