Red Hot + Fela (2014)

Knitting Factory Records


  • Red Hot + Fela (2014)
  • Red Hot + Fela (2014)
  • Red Hot + Fela (2014)
  • Red Hot + Fela (2014)

This variant is currently sold out

Red Hot is an AIDS awareness organization currently partnering with cross-genre collaborators representing rock, hip-hop, Americana, and classical for this release of Fela Kuti compositions, Red Hot + Fela (Knitting Factory Records). The release includes classic Fela anthems like “Lady” recorded by tUnE-yArDs, Questlove, Angelique Kidjo, and Akua Naru, “Zombie” recorded by Spoek Mathambo, Cerebral Cortex, and Frown, and “Trouble Sleep Yanga Wake Am” recorded by My Morning Jacket, Merrill Garbus (from tUnE-yArDs), and Brittany Howard (from Alabama Shakes) and “Sorrow, Tears & Blood” reworked by the Kronos Quartet along with TV On The Radios’ Kyp Malone and Tune Adembimpe. 

The partnership between KFR and Red Hot is particularly relevant to Fela Kuti, given that he died of an AIDS-related illness himself. To date, Red Hot has released 18 albums and produced several concert and film series to raise money and awareness to fight AIDs around the world. They have partnered with countless local, national, and international AIDS organizations, all of whom have benefited from releases like Red Hot + Fela. Red Hot + FELA LIVE! is produced with Anthony Demby and Paul Heck for the Red Hot Organization. 

01 Baloji & L’Orchestre de la Katuba [ft. Kuku]: “Buy Africa”
02 tUnE-yArDs, ?uestlove, Angelique Kidjo, & Akua Naru: “Lady”
03 Spoek Mathambo & Zaki Ibrahim: “Yellow Fever”
04 Nneka, Sinkane, Amayo & Superhuman Happiness: “No Buredi”
05 Just a Band & Childish Gambino: “Who No Know Go No”
06 My Morning Jacket, Merrill Garbus, Brittany Howard: “Trouble Sleep Yanga Wake Am”
07 Kyp Malone, Tunde Adebimpe, Kronos Quartet, Stuart Bogie: “Sorrow Tears and Blood”
08 Superhuman Happiness, Sahr Ngaujah, Abena Koomson, Rubblebucket: “ITT”
09 Tony Allen, M1, Baloji: “Afrodisco Beat 2013″
10 Just A Band, Bajah, Chance the Rapper: “Gentleman”
11 GendEr Infinity: “Hi Life Time”
12 Spoek Mathambo, Cerebral Cortex, Frown: “Zombie”
13 King: “Go Slow” 

Standard Black Vinyl LP comes with Digital Download Card (High Quality 320kbps MP3).   

Released October 8, 2014

Share this

Pin Post Plus